Caries

LA SITUATION ACTUELLE

L'Organisation mondiale de la Santé estime que la majorité des adultes auront des caries à un certain point dans leur vie.1 La carie affecte environ 620 million de bébés, c'est-à-dire environ 9 % de la population.2

POURQUOI AVONS-NOUS DES CARIES?

Lorsque le sucre et les glucides entrent en contact avec nos dents, les bactéries responsables de la caries (Streptococcus mutans) créent de l'acide lactique, ce qui diminue le pH dans une zone acidique (en dessous de 5,9). Un pH à ce niveau entraîne plusieurs complications:

• L'émail des dents commence à se dissoudre
• L'émail n'est plus protégé contre les bactéries
• Diminution du flot salivaire (bouche sèche, ouxérostomie)
• Mauvaise haleine
• Candidose (champignons)

Au même moment, de la plaque dentaire se forme sur les dents. Aussi appelée biofilm, elle représente une dangereuse colonie de bactéries qui se collent à l'émail. La bouche devient alors un réservoir pour les Streptococcus mutans, les bactéries responsables de la carie.

Cela mène direction à des lésions, et souvent à des lésions cavitaires (caries).

COMMENT PEUT-ON GÉRER LA CARIE?

Ce graphique représente l'évolution du processus carieux. Dans la zone rouge, un professionnel dentaire commencerait normalement à considérer de restaurer la carie (retirer la carie chirurgicalement pour la remplir ensuite avec un plombage).

Toutefois, aujourd'hui, le nouveau modèle médical du traitement de la carie démontre que la majorité des lésions de l'émail, et 60 % des caries qui s'étendent davantage dans la dentine, peuvent être reminéralisées avec des solutions pour la maison.3

Nous vous encourageons à consulter les produits ci-dessous pour découvrir des solutions basées sur la science et hautement efficaces pour prévenir et reminéraliser la carie.


Recommended & used by dental hygienists!

Subscribe to the X-PUR newsletter
and get 10% off your next purchase!

Promotions, nouveaux produits et trucs d'hygiène buccale, directement à vous!

Sale

Unavailable

Sold Out

Cavities

PRESENT SITUATION

The World Health Organization estimates that nearly all adults will have cavities at some point in time.1 In baby teeth, it affects about 620 million people or 9% of the population.2

WHY DO WE GET CAVITIES?

When sugar and carbohydrates enter in contact with our teeth, the bacteria responsible of cavities (Streptococcus mutans) begin creating lactic acid, which lowers the oral pH into an acidic zone (below 5.9). A pH level at this level brings many issues:

• Process of tooth enamel's dissolving is initiated
• Enamel become unproteced from bacteria
• Decrease of salivary flow (dry mouth)
• Increase of bad breath
• Nourishment of oral fungi

At the same time, dental plaque is forming on the teeth. Also named biofilm, it represents a dangerous bacterial colonies that stick on the enamel. The mouth then becomes a food reservoir for Streptococcus mutans, the cavity-causing decay bacteria.

This quickly leads to lesions, and often cavital lesions (cavities).

HOW CAN CAVITIES BE MANAGED?

This graphic represents the evolution of the cavity process. In the red zone, a dental professional would normally begin considering treating the cavity with a regular restoration (drilling into the tooth to remove the cavity, then filling up the hole with a restorative material to build up the tooth).

However, today, the new medical modal of caries management shows that the majority of enamel lesions and 60% of caries that extend further into the dentin can be remineralized with home-care solutions.3

Please look below to discover the most effective and evidence-based home-care preventive and remineralizing products against cavities.

Recommended & used by dental hygienists!

Subscribe to the X-PUR newsletter
and get 10% off your next purchase!

Promotions, new products and oral hygiene tips. Directly to you!

Sale

Unavailable

Sold Out